HELD AT PHILADELPHIA FOR PROMOTING USEFUL KNOWLEDGE

WWW.AMPHILSOC.ORG

MEMBERS ELECTED TO THE AMERICAN PHILOSOPHICAL SOCIETY APRIL 25, 2025

The American Philosophical Society is pleased to welcome new Members elected to the Society in 2025. Election to the American Philosophical Society honors extraordinary accomplishments in all fields. The APS is unusual among learned societies because its Membership is comprised of top scholars from a wide variety of academic disciplines.

CLASS 1: MATHEMATICIAN AND PHYSICAL SCIENCES

Barry Barish

Linde Professor of Physics, Emeritus, California Institute of Technology; Professor, University of California, Riverside; President's Distinguished Endowed Chair in Physics, Stony Brook University

Persis Drell

Provost Emerita, James and Anna Marie Spilker Professor, Stanford University Professor of Materials, Science and Engineering, Professor of Physics, Stanford University

Susan T. Dumais

Technical Fellow, Managing Director, Microsoft Research New England, New York City, and Montreal, Microsoft

Michael Harris

Professor of Mathematics, Columbia University; Professor émérite, Université Paris Cité

Marcia Jean Rieke

Regents' Professor of Astronomy, Steward Observatory, University of Arizona

International

Alejandro de Ávila Blomberg

Founding Director, Ethnobotanical Garden, Oaxaca, México; Curator, Oaxaca Textile Museum

Egbert "Bert" Willem Meijer

Distinguished Professor in the Molecular Sciences, Professor of Organic Chemistry, Eindhoven University of Technology

CLASS 2: BIOLOGICAL SCIENCES

Martin Chalfie

University Professor, Columbia University

HELD AT PHILADELPHIA FOR PROMOTING USEFUL KNOWLEDGE

WWW.AMPHILSOC.ORG

Dianne K. Newman

Gordon M. Binder/Amgen Professor of Biology and Geobiology, Merkin Institute Professor, California Institute of Technology

Mary Eleonor Power

Professor, Department of Integrative Biology, University of California, Berkeley; Faculty Manager, Angelo Coast Range Reserve

Terrence J. Sejnowski

Professor, Francis Crick Chair, The Salk Institute for Biological Studies; Professor of Biology, Adjunct Professor of Neurosciences, Cognitive Science, and Computer Science and Engineering, University of California, San Diego

Paul Turner

Rachel Carson Professor of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, Yale University; Director of Center for Phage Biology and Therapy at Yale; Faculty Member, Graduate Programs in Microbiology, Yale University School of Medicine

International

Paul Nurse

Chief Executive Officer, The Francis Crick Institute; Chancellor, University of Bristol

Janet Rossant

President and Scientific Director, Gairdner Foundation; Senior Scientist Emeritus, Research Institute, The Hospital for Sick Children, Toronto; University Professor Emeritus, University of Toronto

William James Sutherland

Director of Research, Department of Zoology, The University of Cambridge

CLASS 3: SOCIAL SCIENCES

David Card

Class of 1950 Professor of Economics, Director, Center for Labor Economics, Director, Econometrics Laboratory, University of California Berkeley

Esther Duflo

Abdul Latif Jameel Professor of Poverty Alleviation and Development Economics, Institute of Technology; Co-Director, Abdul Latif Jameel Poverty Action Lab Chaire, Pauvreté et politiques, College de France

HELD AT PHILADELPHIA FOR PROMOTING USEFUL KNOWLEDGE

WWW.AMPHILSOC.ORG

Sherrilynn Ifill

Vernon E. Jordan, Jr. Professor of Law, Howard University School of Law

Mazel Rose Markus

Davis-Brack Professor in the Behavioral Sciences, Department of Psychology, Stanford University, Faculty Director, Stanford SPARQ, Stanford University

Angela R. Riley

Professor of Law and American Indian Studies, Carole Goldberg Endowed Chair of Native American Law; Special Advisor to the Chancellor on Native American and Indigenous Affairs, Director, Native Nations Law & Policy Center, UCLA; Justice, Chief Justice, Supreme Court of the Citizen Potawatomi Nation; Appellate Justice, Rincon Band of Luiseño Indians Court of Appeals; Appellate Justice, Pokagon Band of Potawatomi Indians Court of Appeals; Visiting professor, Harvard Kennedy School of Government

Timothy David Snyder

Richard C. Levin Professor of History and Public Affairs, Yale University; Permanent fellow, Institut für die Wiessenschaften vom Menschen

International

Bertrand Van Ruymbeke

Full professor of American Civilization and History, Université de Paris 8 (Vincennes Saint-Denis); Principal Investigator, America2026

CLASS 4: HUMANITIES

David A. Bell

Director of the Shelby Cullom Davis Center for Historical Studies, Princeton University; Sidney and Ruth Lapidus Professor in the Era of North Atlantic Revolutions, Department of History, Princeton University

Brigitte Bedos-Rezak

Professor of History, Affiliate Professor, Institute for the Study of the Ancient World, Affiliate Professor, Institute of Fine Arts, New York University

Paul D. Guyer

Jonathan Nelson Professor of Humanities and Philosophy Emeritus, Brown University

Margaret Leah King

Professor Emerita of History, Brooklyn College and Graduate Center, City University of New York

James Lowe Peacock

Kenan Distinguished Professor Emeritus, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

HELD AT PHILADELPHIA FOR PROMOTING USEFUL KNOWLEDGE

WWW.AMPHILSOC.ORG

International

Nicholas Ernst Cronk

Director, Voltaire Foundation for Enlightenment Studies, Professor of European Enlightenment Studies, Emeritus Fellow, St. Edmund Hall, University of Oxford

CLASS 5: THE ARTS, PROFESSIONS, AND LEADERS IN PUBLIC AND PRIVATE AFFAIRS

Julie A. Fairman

Nightingale Professor in Nursing Emerita, University of Pennsylvania School of Nursing

Alan Michael Garber

President, Harvard University; Mallinckrodt Professor of Health Care Policy, Harvard Medical School; Professor of Economics, Harvard Faculty of Arts & Sciences; Professor of Public Policy; Harvard Kennedy School; Professor of Health Policy and Management, Harvard Chan School of Public Health

Edward Kane

Senior Advisor and Co-Founder, HarbourVest Partners

William (Bill) Herbert Miller

Retired Founder, Chairman, & Chief Investment Officer, Miller Value Partners

Lance Morgan

President and Chief Executive Officer, Ho-Chunk, Inc.; Founding Partner, Big Fire Law & Policy Group, LLP

Jeffrey Rosen

President, Chief Executive Officer, National Constitution Center; Professor of Law, George Washington University Law School

Bradford Lee Smith

President, Vice Chair, Microsoft

Valerie Smith

President, Swarthmore College

International

Meitamei Olol-Dapash

Founder and Executive Director, Maasai Environmental Resource Coalition (MERC); Co-Director, Maasai Community Partnership Project (MCPP)

American Philosophical Society HELD AT PHILADELPHIA FOR PROMOTING USEFUL KNOWLEDGE

WWW.AMPHILSOC.ORG

María Isabel Grañén Porrúa

President, Alfredo Harp Helú Foundation; President, Civil Association Apoyo al Desarrollo de Archives y Bibliotecas de México; Director, Francisco de Burga Library, UABJO